Category Archives: De Mazenod Experience

De Mazenod Experience

Photo 1

Fr. James Ralston OMI from Johannesburg, South Africa (OMISA), recently participated in the De Mazenod Experience, he shares with us what this Experience meant for him.

Photo 2

“In this, the year of my 25th anniversary of religious vows, I felt it pertinent to spend some quality time in reflection and revitalisation, so I applied to participate in the De Mazenod Experience. The 21 years since ordination have been spent in Formation as a treasurer for 8 years and the balance in parish ministry.

Coming on the De Mazenod Experience has been the realisation of a long-held desire. From the very moment I set foot on Aix-en-Provence I have experienced an emotion not experienced for ages. Being within the walls of where the Congregation began; being in the city where the Founder was born and visiting the places and sites of significance to the Oblates has brought a whole new reality to my life as an Oblate of Mary Immaculate.

Photo 3

The time spent listening and reading about St. Eugène and the early Oblates, their experiences and their drive, enkindled in me a renewed enthusiasm and determination to bring to life what I have learnt, to bear fruit on my future life and ministry, not without its challenges and demands, but with a revitalised view of the commencement of the Oblates.

The retreat spent at Notre Dame de Vie outside of St. Didier was grace-filled and wonderful experiencing both extremes of tears, for joy and from frustration. The mere fact of being guided through the meditation with frequent encouragement permitted me to open my heart to the working of the Holy Spirit and to be able to view myself and my spiritual journey on a more positive light, this making me more responsive to God’s work in my life.

Photo 4

My feelings of gratitude are beyond words, but not beyond how I intend to express them in my ministry and my life. My sincere thanks to God and all those who have made this De Mazenod Experience what it proved to be for me. I quote from my journal notes, “Should I begin to rationalise, I can see no logical reason why he (God) should have remained at my side as my protector, except the fact that he loved me to life and therefore continues to love me, even though there remain occasions of ingratitude in my life.”

I return to parish ministry, and a new obedience, filled with fresh zeal and an enlightened view on life and mission.”

James Ralston OMI

The De Mazenod Experience and My Encounter with Jesus

Photo 1

At the beginning, this De Mazenod Experience (DMX) was not my priority. I came to this DMX because I wanted to know the spirituality of St. Eugene, but without any excitement. What made me so exited most was my plan to walk the Camino de Santiago, prior to the DMX. After the Camino, then I would joint the DMX.

Photo 2

But now I could say that this DMX is the best gift from God that I can not be grateful enough. I received many blessings from this Experience. All my questions, mostly spiritual questions were answered. I know much better who St. Eugene is, and this is more important, I fall in love with him again. His spiritual life became an inspiration for me to live out my own. Knowing and loving him help me to see clearly my identity as an Oblate. I know where I am going. It guves me a meaningful life. I feel so grateful to the call of my Oblate life. As an Oblate I am connected to such a great history of St. Eugene and of the Oblate Family. Those are the graces that I never imagined before.

Photo 3

This DMX also give me an experience of encountering Jesus in a very intimate way. He loves me beyond my sinfullness. He calls me to live in an united live with Him. He always look for me to forgive my sins so that I can live in Him and He lives in me. He never leaves me. He shows me the way to live my life according to His will. He makes me understand how to love Him and live my life happilly.

Photo 4

Now I live my life full of gratitude, love and joy. I will live my life as an Oblate faithfuly. I will follow the Constitutions and Rules without any excuses. I will give all my life to Jesus through prayers, reflection, study and mission. I will give my whole life for the sake of the Church’s mission, through the Congregation with the heart full of gratitude. I will invite my brothers Oblate to live as an Oblate in accordance to the dream of St. Eugene. I also want to be the witness of St Eugene ‘s charism to many people by choosing the most powerless, simple and less publication acts. I will leave nothing undared.

In Jedus’ and Mary’s name

Antonius Radjabana OMI

De Mazenod Experience in 2019

Photo 1

In 2019, there will be two De Mazenod Experience in Aix; each lasting two months. The first is for English-speaking Oblates that will begin on April 24. The second is for the Spanish-speaking Oblates that will begin on September 11th.

Photo 2

The De Mazenod Experience is a renewal program that gives participants a re-reading of their experience of the Oblate Charism. The Experience takes place in an atmosphere of prayer and reflection. Fraternal sharing is an important dimension of this session.

During the Experience the participants make pilgrimages to the significant places of the foundation: Aix-en-Provence, Saint-Laurent du Verdon, first missions preached by the Missionaries of Provence as well as pilgrimage to the tomb of the Founder in Marseille. They also make two weeks of silent retreat according to the Spiritual Exercises of Saint Ignatius.

Photo 3

The second De Meazenod Experience for the year 2018 is about to end. It is done in English. There are 16 Oblates from 9 nationalities live this experience. Fathers Asodo and Bonga, of the community of Aix, and Father Tony RIGOLI, of the United States, animate this session.

We wish the Oblates welcomed among us having a true spiritual renewal.

Gérard SOLDAINI

45th De Mazenod Experience

Photo 1JPG

Twelve Oblates from 8 different nationalities are currently participating in the De Mazenod Experience that is being given in French. This session is taking place in the birthplace of the Congregation and is led by three Oblates: Joseph Bois and Asodo Istoyo (Aix-en-Provence) and Ron LaFramboise (San Antonio in the United States).

Photo 2JPG

The De Mazenod Experience is a renewal program whose purpose is to enable the participants to look at their experience of the Oblate charism as it is lived in their daily missionary life. The experience takes place in an atmosphere of prayer, reflection and fraternal sharing. Important moments of the Experience are the pilgrimages to the significant places of the foundation: Aix-en-Provence, the first missions preached by the Missionaries of Provence, the tomb of the Founder in Marseille. The highlight of the program is the two-week silent retreat according to the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius that is held in a monastery.

Photo 3JPG

It was the 1986 General Chapter that gave birth to the spiritual renewal program called the De Mazenod Experience and choose Aix-en-Provence as its location. The first of 45 Experiences to date was in 1990. Nearly 620 Oblates have participated in this program. September 12 the English Experience will begin.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

De Mazenod Experience in Spanish – 2017

Photo 1

From September 12th to November 9th, with Chicho Rois (Western Sahara) and Domingo Di Meo (Italy), I led the De Mazenod experience (DMX) in Spanish by accompanying 13 Oblates from various Latin American countries, USA and Ukraine, and facilitating the encounter with God through St. Eugene.

Photo 2

To be in the Mother House at Aix-en-Provence is always a unique experience. Being in the “holy land” of our congregation, it is to feel the strength of the Spirit that accompanied Saint Eugene and his first companions at the dawn of the Oblate life. It is to put one’s footsteps in theirs to experience what they have experienced and to discover the poor who needed the love of God on these Provencal lands.

At the beginning of the experience we had a touching celebration in the Foundation Room where we presented both our Oblate crosses and what everyone wish to experience during those months. The first weeks were a time of integration, study and personal reflection. Each day was presented an aspect of the life of St. Eugene or the Oblate Charism that helped us to re-read our own lives and to enter into the mystery of our vocation. It was the significant moments that allowed us to deepen our lives and our mission. We concluded this first period with a meeting with the heart of St. Eugene. During this celebration we were all able to hold in our hands the heart of Saint Eugene (venerated in the Founder’s Room) and feel the feelings and zeal for the mission of our dear Father.

Photo 3

We, then, made a retreat for two weeks at Sainte Garde, a house held by the Institute of Our Lady of Life. Days filled with the Spirit of God who accompanied each of us in a different way and allowed us to re-discover the presence of God that was constantly manifested in the events of each day: in prayer, interviews, meals, walks, and our rest. The consecrated persons who took care of the house, the teachers and the young seminarians and students as well as the Provençal nature invited us to marvel once again of the greatness of the Lord.

On Sunday October 15th we had a chance to walk to visit the Church of Our Lady of Life and celebrating together the feast of Saint Teresa of Avila. We also shared a solemn moment of encountering the Lord with Saint Teresa.

Photo 4

During the retreat, by the personal accompaniment, we perceived how God revealed himself to each person according to his own characters, and how he gave everyone what he needed to rediscover his life and his vocation.

Returned to Aix after the retreat, we welcomed Father Alberto Huamán, the General Councilor for Latin America, who introduced us to the ways that the congregation discovered to continue his mission at this time, and invited us to continue to follow in the footsteps of St. Eugene.

The high point was the presence of Father General, with whom we were able to speak personally. During the final and missioning celebration, we renewed our oblation that one day we made in fervor before him, our Superior General, who handed back our Oblate crosses and sent us to continue our Oblate mission.

We give thanks to God for all that we have lived and we also thank the Oblate community of Aix who, by its closeness, fraternity, and constant attention, allowed us to realize this encounter with God through Saint Eugene de Mazenod.

Omar FRIEDRICH, OMI

The De Mazenod Experience in Spanish

Photo 1JPG

On September 13th, the De Mazenod Experience began with 16 Oblates from the Spanish-speaking countries. The session is animated by three Fathers: Chicho ROIS (Western Sahara), Domenico DI MEO (Italy) and Omar FRIEDRICH (Argentina). The thirteen participants are from Spain, USA, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Peru, Paraguay, Brazil and Guatemala.

Photo 2JPG

The De Mazenod Experience is a renewal program designed to allow participants to re-read their experience of the Oblate Charism in their daily missionary lives.

The primary objectives of the Experience are: ongoing formation, renewal of the Oblate vocation, reflection on the lived experience of the Charism, deepening of the Oblate Charism in one’s own life, as well as to deeper understanding of the Founder and personal conversion. The experience takes place in an atmosphere of prayer, reflection and fraternal sharing.

Photo 3JPG

The important moments of the Experiment are the pilgrimages to the significant sites of the foundation: Aix-en-Provence, Marseille, the first missions preached by the Missionaries of Provence, pilgrimage to the tomb of the Founder.

In this program, one other strong moment is the two weeks of silent retreat following the Spiritual Exercises of St Ignatius.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

Pilgrimage to Fuveau

1min

On Pentecost Monday, participants of the De Mazenod Experience made a pilgrimage to Fuveau where, in September 1816, the missionaries of Provence preached a parish mission. This mission gave birth to the vocation of Marius Suzanne, a young native of this city. Suzanne entered the novitiate at the age of 17.

2min

The pilgrimage began in the Chapel of the First Vows where the rite of the commissioning of missionaries was celebrated as prescribed by the Constitutions and rules of 1818. The rite begins with the Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament, followed by a community prayer, and the blessing by the Superior. Prostration during the blessing is part of this rite.

3min

On arrival at Fuveau, the pilgrims stopped for prayer before the mission cross, erected on the roadside by Saint Eugene de Mazenod and his companions at the end of the 1816 mission. Later, a Mass for Oblate vocation was celebrated in the Parish Church of Fuveau.

The pilgrimage ended with a picnic at the square in front of the Chapel of St. Michael, patron of the town of Fuveau.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

Supported in Friendship and Fraternal Life

Photo 1

The 2017 De Mazenod Experience in English began on April 19 with 15 participants coming from 9 Units. We began, welcomed by members of the Aix Community, literally “coming into” this our first Oblate community house, proceeding into the Church of the Mission, the Chapel of the Vows, and going upstairs to The Foundation Room, where we spent time in community prayer.

Photo 2

The first several weeks saw us learning about St. Eugene’s story and our stories, reflecting on the beginnings as a Missionary and Religious community with Eugene and his first companions, and together reflecting on the missionary expansion during the time of the Founder and beyond, and the contemporary situations in our own missionary units today. The facilitators for this session are Fr. Asodo ISTOYO, of the Aix Community and Bro. Patrick McGEE of the US Province.

Photo 3

Our retreat will be under the direction of Fr. Paweł RATAJCZAK, assisted by Fr. Asanga VIRAJ, Fr. Asodo and Bro. Pat as spiritual directors. Following the two weeks of retreat, we will have some further input on local Oblate history and mission in Aix and Marseilles, a visit to St. Eugene’s tomb, some input from the General Administration, a visit by the Superior General, and some final wrap up and evaluation. It has been a rich experience thus far, and our group has become an Oblate community, blessed by our being here. We remember you in our prayer!

Patrick McGee, OMI

De Mazenod Experience in Polish

Photo 1

The De Mazenod Experience in Polish is currently taking place in Aix at the cradle of our Congregation since the 1st of September till October 7th 2015. The Experience is animated by Krzysztof ZIELENDA (Superior of Aix), Roman TYCZYNSKI (France-Benelux), and Paweł RATAJCZAK (Assumption, Canada).

During prayer in the Foundation Room

During prayer in the Foundation Room

The recently formulated De Mazenod Experience program is meant to be two months long, however, in order to allow the Polish Oblate participants to find “a time window” the program had to be shortened to six weeks. The first sign of “Polish atmosphere” manifested itself in Aix already in January of this year during the retreat for the Superiors of Polish Oblate communities.

Preparing for the Experience the participants list kept changing but in the end a very fine group, openhearted, with an ability to create a joyful and sincere community, made it to Aix. Even though all the participants are only Oblates of Polish background and the spoken language remains Polish, as a group they truly represent the whole of the Congregation. The group is made up of Oblates working in Canada, US, Luxembourg, Sweden, Madagascar, Cameroun, Ukraine, Belarus and of course Poland itself; and among the participants are two Oblate brothers.

During conference in Room Temp

During conference in Room Temp

For some of us this is our very first visit to Aix – for others they have been here before. For some it is part of a sabbatical program – others, just a stop in the middle of their mission to take some spiritual power – and yet for others, it is a moment to prepare for a major change in their mission.

For us here our “Daily bread” is prayer and the Eucharist in the chapel of First Vows of our Founder. Sharing, visiting places associated with the life of St. Eugene and his first companions, as well as the upcoming retreat, all these are common for a De Mazenod Experience program, but the uniqueness of the group gives to it all a very special coloring.

Andrzej JASTRZEBSKI, OMI

De Mazenod Experience – Dates of the next sessions

Photo 1

On 1 September 2015 we began in Aix-en-Provence the De Mazenod Experience (DMX) in Polish with 13 Oblates participating in the program. The participants are from Poland, Ukraine, Belarus, Madagascar, USA and Sweden.

De Mazenod Experience in English 2015

De Mazenod Experience in English 2015

The DMX is a spiritual renewal program lived in Aix-en-Provence which aims at enabling the participants to look back over their missionary experience in the light of the life of the Founder and the first Oblate community.

Here are the dates of the next De Mazenod Experiences in different languages:

De Mazenod Experience in English:
19 April – 15 June 2017
12 September – 08 November 2018
24 April – 20 June 2019

De Mazenod Experience in French:
07 September – 03 November 2016
11 April – 07 June 2018

De Mazenod Experience in Spanish
06 September – 02 November 2017
11 September – 07 November 2019

For more information please visit: A new program of the De Mazenod Experience

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

Archives pour la catégorie Expérience de Mazenod

Expérience de Mazenod

Photo 1

Le père James Ralston OMI de Johannesburg, en Afrique du Sud (OMISA) a participé il y a peu à l’Expérience de Mazenod. Il nous partage ce que cette Expérience a signifié pour lui.

Photo 2

« En cette année qui marque le 25e anniversaire de mes vœux, j’ai trouvé pertinent de prendre un temps de réflexion et de ressourcement de qualité, et je me suis inscrit comme participant à l’Expérience de Mazenod. Les 21 années depuis mon ordination se sont passées dans la formation comme trésorier pendant 8 ans en même temps que dans le ministère paroissial.

L’Expérience de Mazenod était l’aboutissement d’un désir déjà ancien. À l’instant même où j’ai posé le pied à Aix-en-Provence, j’ai ressenti une émotion que je n’avais pas ressentie depuis longtemps. Être dans les murs où la congrégation est née ; me trouver dans la ville où est né le Fondateur et voir tous les lieux et sites importants pour les Oblats a donné une nouvelle réalité à ma vie d’Oblat de Marie Immaculée.

Photo 3

Le temps passé à lire et à écouter parler de saint Eugène et des premiers oblats, de leurs expériences et de leur dynamisme, a ravivé en moi l’enthousiasme et la détermination pour faire vie ce que j’ai appris, pour porter du fruit dans ma vie et mon futur ministère, non sans défis et exigences, mais avec une vision renouvelée de l’origine des Oblats.

La retraite à Notre Dame de Vie près de Saint-Didier a été extraordinaire et riche en grâces, une expérience des deux extrêmes des larmes, joie et frustration. Le simple fait d’être guidé dans la méditation par de fréquents encouragements m’a permis d’ouvrir mon cœur à l’action de l’Esprit et de voir sous un éclairage plus positif ma personne et mon itinéraire spirituel, me rendant ainsi plus réceptif à l’action de Dieu dans ma vie.

Photo 4

Ma gratitude est au-delà des mots, mais pas au-delà de ma manière d’essayer de l’exprimer dans mon ministère et dans ma vie. Je remercie sincèrement Dieu et tous ceux qui ont fait de cette Expérience de Mazenod ce qu’elle a été pour moi. Je cite de mon journal : « Si je commence à rationaliser, je ne vois aucune raison logique pour qu’il (Dieu) soit resté à mes côtés pour me protéger, sauf le fait qu’il m’a aimé pour toute la vie et qu’il continue donc à m’aimer, même s’il reste dans ma vie des moments d’ingratitude ».

Je retourne vers le ministère paroissial, et une nouvelle obédience, rempli d’un nouveau zèle et d’une vision éclairée de la vie et de la mission ».

James Ralston OMI

L’Expérience de Mazenod et ma rencontre avec Jésus

Photo 1

Au début, cette Expérience de Mazenod (DMX) n’était pas ma priorité. J’y venais pour connaître la spiritualité de saint Eugène, mais sans enthousiasme. Ce qui m’enthousiasmait beaucoup plus, c’était mon projet de faire, avant la DMX, le chemin de Saint-Jacques de Compostelle. Après le Chemin, je rejoindrais la DMX.

Photo 2

Je peux cependant dire aujourd’hui que cette DMX est un cadeau de Dieu, dont je ne saurais être assez reconnaissant. J’en ai reçu de nombreuses bénédictions. Toutes mes questions, surtout d’ordre spirituel, ont trouvé une réponse. J’ai mieux connu saint Eugène et plus important encore, je suis retombé amoureux de lui. Sa vie spirituelle est devenue une inspiration pour vivre ma propre vie. Le connaître et l’aimer m’aide à voir clairement mon identité d’Oblat. Je sais où je vais. Cela donne du sens à ma vie. Je suis empli de reconnaissance pour l’appel à la vie oblate. Comme Oblat, je suis connecté à la formidable histoire de saint Eugène et de la famille oblate. Ce sont des grâces que je n’avais jamais imaginées avant.

Photo 3

La DMX a aussi été une expérience de rencontre très intime avec Jésus. Il m’aime au-delà de mon péché. Il m’appelle à vivre uni à Lui. Il me cherche toujours pour me pardonner afin que je vive en Lui et qu’Il vive en moi. Il ne m’abandonne jamais. Il me montre la manière de vivre ma vie selon sa volonté. Il m’apprend à l’aimer et à vivre une vie joyeuse.

Photo 4

Aujourd’hui je suis empli de gratitude, d’amour et de joie. Je vivrai fidèlement ma vie d’Oblat. Je suivrai sans aucune excuse les Constitutions et Règles. Je donnerai toute ma vie à Jésus dans la prière, la réflexion, l’étude et la mission. Je donnerai toute ma vie pour la mission de l’Église à travers la congrégation, avec un cœur reconnaissant. J’inviterai mes frères Oblats à vivre en Oblats selon le rêve de saint Eugène. Je veux aussi être témoin pour beaucoup de gens du charisme de saint Eugène en privilégiant les actes les plus humbles, simples et cachés. J’oserai tout.

Au nom de Jésus et de Marie

Antonius Radjabana OMI

Les Expériences de Mazenod en 2019

Photo 1

En 2019, auront lieu à Aix deux Expériences de Mazenod, chacune ayant une durée de deux mois. La première, pour les Oblats de langue anglaise, commencera le 24 avril. La seconde, en espagnol, commencera le 11 septembre.

Photo 2

L’Expérience de Mazenod est un programme de ressourcement qui permet aux participants une relecture de leur expérience du charisme oblat. L’Expérience se déroule dans une atmosphère de prière et de réflexion. Le partage fraternel est une dimension importante de cette session.

Lors de l’Expérience les participants font des pèlerinages dans les lieux significatifs de la fondation : Aix-en-Provence, Saint-Laurent du Verdon, les premières missions prêchées par les Missionnaires de Provence, pèlerinage sur la tombe du Fondateur à Marseille. Ils font aussi deux semaines de retraite silencieuse selon les Exercices spirituels de saint Ignace.

Photo 3

La seconde session de l’année 2018 est sur le point de s’achever. Elle est donnée en anglais. 16 Oblats issus de 9 nationalités vivent cette Expérience. Les Pères Asodo et Bonga, de la communauté d’Aix, et le Père Tony RIGOLI, des Etats Unis, animent cette session.

Nous souhaitons à ces nombreux Oblats de passage la bienvenue parmi nous pour un approfondissement spirituel total.

Gérard SOLDAINI

45e Expérience de Mazenod

Photo 1JPG

Ce sont 12 Oblats, de 8 différentes nationalités, qui participent actuellement à l’Expérience de Mazenod donnée en français. Cette session est animée par trois Oblats : Ron Laframbroise (San Antonio aux Etats-Unis), Joseph Bois et Asodo Istoyo (Aix-en-Provence), et se déroule au berceau de la Congrégation.

Photo 2JPG

L’Expérience de Mazenod est un programme de ressourcement dont le but est de permettre aux participants une relecture de leur expérience du charisme oblat dans leur vie missionnaire de chaque jour. L’Expérience se déroule dans une atmosphère de prière, de réflexion et de partage fraternel. Des moments importants de l’Expérience sont les pèlerinages dans les lieux significatifs de la fondation : Aix-en-Provence, les premières missions prêchées par les Missionnaires de Provence, la tombe du Fondateur à Marseille. Dans ce programme, le point fort sont les deux semaines de retraite silencieuse selon les Exercices spirituels de saint Ignace qui se déroulera dans un monastère.

Photo 3JPG

C’est le Chapitre général de 1986 qui a fait naître le programme de ressourcement spirituel appelé Expérience de Mazenod, en choisissant pour lieu Aix-en-Provence. La première des 45 Expériences vécues jusqu’à présent a eu lieu en 1990. Ce sont près de 620 Oblats qui ont participé à ce programme. Le 12 septembre prochain commence l’Expérience en anglais.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

Expérience de Mazenod en espagnol – 2017

Photo 1

Du 12 septembre au 9 novembre j’ai animé avec Chicho Rois (Sahara occidental) et Domingo Di Meo (Italie) l’expérience de Mazenod en espagnol, pour accompagner 13 Oblats de divers pays d’Amérique latine, USA et Ukraine, et faciliter la rencontre avec Dieu par l’intermédiaire de saint Eugène.

Photo 2

L’arrivée à la Maison-Mère à Aix-en-Provence est toujours une expérience unique. C’est approcher la « terre sainte » de notre congrégation, c’est sentir la force de l’Esprit qui accompagnait saint Eugène et ses premiers compagnons à l’aube du chemin oblat. C’est mettre ses pas dans les leurs pour expérimenter ce qu’ils ont vécu et découvrir les pauvres qui avaient besoin de l’amour de Dieu sur ces terres provençales.

Au début de l’expérience nous avons eu une émouvante célébration dans la Salle de Fondation, où nous avons présenté nos croix oblates et ce que chacun désirait vivre durant ces mois. Les premières semaines ont été un temps d’intégration, d’étude et de réflexion personnelle. Chaque jour était présenté un aspect de la vie de saint Eugène ou du charisme oblat qui nous aidait à relire notre propre vie et à entrer dans le mystère de notre vocation. Des moments significatifs qui nous ont permis d’approfondir notre vie et notre mission. Nous avons conclu cette première période par une rencontre avec le cœur de saint Eugène. Durant cette célébration nous avons tous pu tenir entre nos mains le cœur de saint Eugène (vénéré dans la chambre du Fondateur) et palper les sentiments et le zèle pour la mission de notre cher Père.

Photo 3

Nous avons ensuite fait pendant quinze jours une retraite à Sainte Garde, une maison tenue par l’Institut de Notre-Dame de Vie. Des jours remplis de l’Esprit de Dieu qui nous a rejoints chacun de manière différente et nous a permis de redécouvrir la présence de Dieu qui se manifestait constamment dans les événements de chaque jour : dans la prière, les entretiens, les repas, les marches, le repos, les consacrées qui s’occupaient de la maison, les professeurs et les jeunes du séminaire qui y est installé et surtout la nature provençale qui nous invitait à nous émerveiller une fois de plus de la grandeur du Seigneur.

Le dimanche 15 octobre nous avons eu la chance de marcher vers l’église de Notre Dame de Vie et de célébrer ensemble la fête de sainte Thérèse d’Avila. Nous y avons également partagé un moment solennel de rencontre du Seigneur avec sainte Thérèse.

Photo 4

Dans l’accompagnement personnel, nous avons perçu comment Dieu se manifestait à chaque personne selon ses caractéristiques propres, et comment il donnait à chacun ce dont il avait besoin pour redécouvrir sa vie et sa vocation.

De retour à Aix, nous avons eu la chance d’accueillir le Père Alberto Huamán, conseiller général pour l’Amérique latine, qui nous a présenté les chemins que la congrégation découvre pour poursuivre sa mission en ce temps, et nous a invités à continuer de suivre les traces de saint Eugène.

Le point d’orgue fut la présence du Père général, avec qui nous avons pu parler personnellement, et qui nous a remis nos croix oblates lors de la célébration finale, pour renouveler cette oblation qu’un jour nous avons faite dans la ferveur, en les recevant de nouveau pour poursuivre notre mission oblate.

Nous rendons grâces à Dieu pour tout ce que nous avons vécu et nous remercions aussi la communauté oblate d’Aix qui, par sa proximité et son attention constante, nous a permis de réaliser cette rencontre avec Dieu à travers saint Eugène.

Omar FRIEDRICH, OMI

Expérience de Mazenod en espagnol

Photo 1JPG

Le 13 septembre a commencé l’Expérience de Mazenod à laquelle participent 13 Oblats de langue espagnole. Cette session est animée par les Pères Chicho ROIS (Sahara Occidental), Domenico DI MEO (Italie) et Omar FRIEDRICH (Argentine). Les participants sont originaires d’Espagne, USA, Mexique, Argentine, Pérou, Paraguay, Brésil et Guatemala.

Photo 2JPG

L’Expérience de Mazenod est un programme de ressourcement qui a but de permettre aux participants une relecture de leur expérience du Charisme oblat dans leur vie missionnaire de chaque jour.

Les premiers objectifs de l’Expérience sont les suivants : formation continue, ressourcement dans la vocation oblate, réflexion sur l’expérience vécue du charisme, approfondissement du charisme oblat dans sa propre vie, compréhension plus profonde du Fondateur, et conversion personnelle. L’Expérience se déroule dans une atmosphère de prière, de réflexion et de partage fraternel.

Photo 3JPG

Des moments importants de l’Expérience sont les pèlerinages dans les lieux significatifs de la fondation : Aix-en-Provence, Marseille, les premières missions prêchées par les Missionnaires de Provence, et le pèlerinage sur la tombe du Fondateur.

Dans le programme, le point fort sont les deux semaines de retraite silencieuse selon les Exercices spirituels de saint Ignace.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

Pèlerinage à Fuveau

1min

Le lundi de Pentecôte, les participants à l’Expérience de Mazenod ont fait un pèlerinage à Fuveau, où en septembre 1816 les Missionnaires de Provence avaient prêché une mission paroissiale. Cette mission fit naître la vocation de Marius Suzanne, un jeune originaire de cette ville qui commença son noviciat à l’âge de 17 ans.

2min

Le pèlerinage a commencé dans la Chapelle des premiers vœux per le rite de départ en mission célébré selon les Constitutions et Règles de 1818. Il débute par l’adoration du Saint Sacrement, suivie d’une prière communautaire et de la bénédiction du supérieur. La prosternation au moment de la bénédiction fait partie de cette tradition.

3min

À Fuveau, les pèlerins se sont arrêtés devant la croix de la mission, plantée au bord du chemin par saint Eugène de Mazenod et ses compagnons à la fin de la mission. Par la suite, une messe pour les vocations oblates a été célébrée dans l’église paroissiale de Fuveau.

Le pèlerinage s’est achevé par un déjeuner fraternel pris en plein air devant la chapelle de Saint-Michel, patron de la ville de Fuveau.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

Soutenus par l’amitié et la vie fraternelle

Photo 1

15 Oblats de 9 unités participent à l’Expérience de Mazenod en anglais qui a commencé le 19 avril dernier. Lors du rite d’accueil, la communauté d’Aix nous a fait entrer dans cette première maison des Oblats en passant par l’église de la mission, la chapelle des premiers vœux et la salle de Fondation où nous avons pris un temps pour la prière communautaire.

Photo 2

Les premières semaines nous ont aidés à voir comment la vie de saint Eugène inspire notre propre vie. Nous avons ensuite réfléchi sur les débuts de la communauté missionnaire et religieuse avec saint Eugène et ses premiers compagnons. Puis nous avons étudié les grandes lignes de l’expansion missionnaire à l’époque du Fondateur et la situation dans nos unités missionnaires aujourd’hui. Les animateurs de cette session sont le Père Asodo ISTOYO de la communauté d’Aix et le Frère Patrick McGEE de la Province des États-Unis.

Photo 3

La retraite sera donnée par le Père Pawel RATAJCZAK, aidé pour l’accompagnement spirituel par le Père Asanga VIRAJ, le Père Asodo et le Frère Patrick. Après la retraite de deux semaines, nous approfondirons nos connaissances sur l’histoire des missions à Aix-en-Provence et Marseille et nous rendrons sur le tombeau de saint Eugène. Nous aurons aussi une rencontre avec un membre de l’Administration générale et la visite du Père général. Notre session se clôturera par un temps d’évaluation. L’expérience que nous vivons est tellement riche que notre groupe est devenu une communauté oblate bénie par notre présence en ce lieu. Vous êtes dans nos prières!

Patrick McGee, OMI

Expérience de Mazenod en polonais

Photo 1

Du 1er septembre au 7 octobre 2015 a lieu dans le berceau de la Congrégation la première Expérience de Mazenod en polonais nouvelle formule. Elle est animée par les pères Krzysztof ZIELENDA (supérieur d’Aix), Roman TYCZYNSKI (France-Benelux) et Paweł RATAJCZAK (Assomption, Canada).

Lors de la prière dans la salle de Fondation

Lors de la prière dans la salle de Fondation

Cette nouvelle formule dure normalement deux mois entiers, mais elle a été ramenée à six semaines pour donner aux Oblats polonais la possibilité de vivre cette Expérience. Le premier signe d’ « atmosphère polonaise » à Aix a été en janvier dernier la retraite des supérieurs des communautés oblates de Pologne.

Bien qu’il n’y ait que des Oblats de culture polonaise et que la langue de communication soit le polonais, ils représentent vraiment l’ensemble de la Congrégation. La liste des participants a connu des changements mais c’est finalement un bon groupe qui est arrivé à Aix, pour y créer une communauté ouverte, joyeuse et sincère. Elle compte des Oblats qui travaillent au Canada, aux USA, au Luxembourg, en Suède, à Madagascar, au Cameroun, en Ukraine, au Belarus, et bien sûr en Pologne. Il y a deux frères oblats parmi les participants.

Lors de la conférence dans la salle Tempier

Lors de la conférence dans la salle Tempier

C’est pour certains d’entre nous la toute première visite à Aix, pour d’autres non. Pour certains, elle rentre dans un temps sabbatique, pour d’autres il s’agit simplement d’une halte dans la mission pour prendre des forces spirituelles et pour d’autres encore d’un temps de préparation à un changement considérable de mission.

Le « pain quotidien » pour nous, c’est la prière et l’Eucharistie dans la chapelle des premiers vœux de notre Fondateur, le partage, la visite des lieux en rapport avec saint Eugène et les premiers Oblats, ainsi que la retraite qui approche. C’est le programme habituel des Expériences de Mazenod, mais le groupe donne à tous ces éléments une coloration particulière.

Andrzej JASTRZEBSKI, OMI

Expérience de Mazenod – dates des prochaines sessions

Photo 1

Le 01 septembre 2015 a commencé à Aix-en-Provence l’Expérience de Mazenod en polonais. Elle est suivie par 13 Oblats venant de Pologne, Ukraine, Biélorussie, Madagascar, États-Unis et Suède.

Expérience de Mazenod en anglais 2015

Expérience de Mazenod en anglais 2015

L’Expérience de Mazenod est un programme de renouveau spirituel vécu à Aix-en-Provence qui veut permettre aux participants de faire un bilan de leur expérience missionnaire à la lumière de la vie du Fondateur et de la première communauté oblate.

Voici les dates des prochaines Expériences de Mazenod.

Expérience de Mazenod en anglais :
19 avril – 15 juin 2017
12 septembre – 08 novembre 2018
24 avril – 20 juin 2019

Expérience de Mazenod en français :
07 septembre – 03 novembre 2016
11 avril – 07 juin 2018

Expérience de Mazenod en espagnol :
06 septembre – 02 novembre 2017
11 septembre – 07 novembre 2019

Pour plus d’information : Un nouveau programme de l’Expérience de Mazenod.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI