Category Archives: House

Portrait of Father Deblieu

Portrait of Father Deblieu

The research done on the occasion of the Bicentenary of the Foundation of the Missionaries of Provence allowed us to discover the portrait of Father Jean-François Sébastien Deblieu, one of the first companions of Saint Eugene de Mazenod. It is really a great gift of the Jubilee, because until now the Oblates had no portrait of Father Deblieu.

Priestly ordination of Fr. Deblieu

Priestly ordination of Fr. Deblieu

Fr. Deblieu lithographic portrait was offered to the Oblates by Mr. Georges Eyssautier with the following inscription: “Great grandson of Leonie Eyssautier, born Deblieu, I offer this lithographic portrait of his uncle, Messire Jean-François Sébastien Deblieu, Canon Emeritus of the Cathedral of Fréjus, Pastor and Dean of La Seyne in the same diocese, one of the first and valiant companions of Saint Eugene de Mazenod, to the Oblates of Mary Immaculate of Aix, to perpetuate his memory. December 6, 2015.”

Fr. Jean-François Sébastien Deblieu, was ordained a priest in Aix in February 1813, he was one of the first five companions of the Founder. He participated in at least 17 of 40 missions preached by the Missionaries of Provence. In 1823 he left the Congregation, but he remained a very good priest and occupied many important posts in the diocese of Fréjus, his diocese of origin.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

Category: 200 years, House, News

The Association of Centre International Eugene de Mazenod (CIEM)

ciem-logo

CIEM is an organization created in November 2011, subject to the provisions of French law of July 1st , 1901. Its purpose is to help publicize the work and thought of St. Eugene de Mazenod, Founder of the Congregation of the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate and the universal reach of his message through linking with any person or entity with an interest in the work of St. Eugene. CIEM also wants to preserve and maintain the historical space, the cradle of the Congregation, located at 54, 56, 58 and 60 cours Mirabeau in Aix-en-Provence.

The association is composed of legal members, active members and associate members. Legal members are the Vicar General, General Treasurer and General Counsel for Europe of the Congregation of the Oblates of Mary Immaculate. Active members are the Oblates of the Aix community and associate members are naturally and morally became members for one year in order to benefit from the service provided and the provisions of the association.

(See Statutes CIEM)

Category: House

Mazenod mansion

mazenod_mansion

maison natale

It is not the largest building on Mirabeau avenue, but the interior is richly adorned in 18th century style: white and gold wainscoting, intertwined garlands on the ceilings, plastered walls, painted pier-glasses, etc. “This house, which his family was to leave forever in 1790, would always remain the cherished, but sad, symbol of his family life shattered by the upheaval of the Revolution and the symbol of his personal life disrupted in its very prime.” (LEFLON, I, p. 35) It was in this house that Eugene’s father and his two uncles were born. And, in the following generation, Eugene and his two sisters, the eldest Charlotte Élisabeth Eugénie, who died at five years of age and the youngest, Charlotte Eugénie Antoinette. To care for this little group of people, there were twelve servants. Their way of life was that of the rich nobility prior to the Revolution, but from his very infancy, Eugene was subjected to the threat of the Revolution. For example, on December 14, 1790, he could see across from his house the bodies of two of his father’s friends, executed by the revolutionaries and hung from the street lamps. At present, this house is occupied by a store and rented apartments.

René MOTTE, OMI

Category: House, News

Founder of the Missionary Oblates

Eugene de Mazenod

THE KEY EVENTS IN HIS LIFE

1782 : birth in Aix-en-Provence
1791 : forced into exile in Italy by the French Revolution
1802 : return to France
1808 : he enters the seminary of Saint-Sulpice, Paris, to study for the priesthood
1811 : he is ordained priest
1812 : return to Aix. He does not go to a parish, but dedicates his ministry to those who are not touched by the structures of the Church : the poor who speak Provencal, the youth, the prisoners, the inhabitants spread out in the small villages
1816 : he founds the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate (originally called Missionaries of Provence)
1823 : named Vicar General of Marseille
1832 : ordained Bishop of Icosia, but with residence in Marseille
1837 : named Bishop of Marseille
1841 : he sends the first Oblate missionaries to Canada, England and Ireland
1861 : he dies on May 21
1975 : he is beatified by Pope Paul VI, as a missionary on fire for Jesus Christ and the Church
1995 : he is canonized by Pope John Paul II

TODAY, his missionary spirit is continued by some 4000 Oblates, missionaries in 64 countries, and by thousands of faithful lay people in the Mazenodian family around the world, and by the members of 44 Institutes of Consecrated Life who are connected to his charism.

Many find St. Eugene to be an intercessor for families in difficulty.

To learn more, visit the web site, or subscribe to the meditations : Eugene Speaks to Us!

Category: House

Archives pour la catégorie Maison

Portrait du père Deblieu

Portrait of Father Deblieu

La recherche faite à l’occasion du Bicentenaire de la fondation des Missionnaires de Provence nous a permis de découvrir le portrait du père Jean-François-Sébastien Deblieu, l’un des premiers compagnons de saint Eugène de Mazenod. C’est vraiment un grand cadeau du Jubilé, car jusqu’à présent les Oblats n’avaient aucun portrait du père Deblieu.

Souvenir de l’ordination du père Deblieu

Souvenir de l’ordination du père Deblieu

Le portrait lithographique du père Deblieu a été offert aux Oblats par Monsieur Georges Eyssautier avec la dédicace suivante : « Arrière-petit-fils de Léonie Eyssautier, née Deblieu, j’offre ce portrait lithographique de son oncle, Messire Jean-François-Sébastien Deblieu, chanoine honoraire de la cathédrale de Fréjus, curé-doyen de la Seyne en ce même diocèse, l’un des premiers et valeureux compagnons de saint Eugène de Mazenod, aux religieux Oblats de Marie Immaculée aixois, pour en perpétuer le souvenir. 6 décembre 2015 ».
Le père Jean-François-Sébastien Deblieu, ordonné prêtre à Aix en février 1813, fut l’un des cinq premiers compagnons du Fondateur. Il participa à au moins 17 des 40 missions prêchées par les Missionnaires de Provence. En 1823, il quitte la Congrégation, mais il demeura un très bon prêtre et occupa des charges importantes dans le diocèse de Fréjus, son diocèse d’origine.

Krzysztof ZIELENDA, OMI

Category: 200 ans, Maison, Nouvelles

L’association Centre International Eugène de Mazenod (CIEM)

ciem-logo

Le CIEM est une association créée en novembre 2011, soumise aux dispositions de la loi française du 1er juillet 1901. Elle a pour objet de contribuer à faire connaître l’œuvre et la pensée de saint Eugène de Mazenod, fondateur de la Congrégation des Missionnaires Oblats de Marie Immaculée et la portée universelle de son message à travers l’établissement de liens avec toute personne morale ou physique s’intéressant à l’œuvre de saint Eugène. Elle veut aussi sauvegarder et entretenir l’espace historique, berceau de la Congrégation, situé aux 54, 56, 58 et 60 cours Mirabeau à Aix-en-Provence.

L’association est composée de membres de droit, de membres actifs et de membres adhérents. Les membres de droit sont le Vicaire général, le Trésorier général et le Conseiller général pour l’Europe de la Congrégation des Oblats de Marie Immaculée. Les membres actifs sont les Oblats de la communauté d’Aix et les membres adhérents temporaires sont des personnes physiques ou morales, devenues membres pour un an en vue de bénéficier des services et prestations de l’association.

(Cf. Statuts du CIEM)

Category: Maison

Hôtel Mazenod

mazenod_mansion

maison natale

Ce n’est pas le plus grand immeuble construit sur le cours, mais l’intérieur est richement décoré dans le style du dix-huitième siècle: or des boiseries, guirlandes entrelacées des plafonds, gypseries, trumeaux peints, etc. «Cette maison, que les siens en 1790 abandonneront pour toujours, restera pour Eugène de Mazenod le cher et douloureux symbole de son foyer dispersé par la tourmente révolutionnaire et de son existence brisée dans sa fleur» (Leflon I, p. 47). C’est dans cette maison que sont nés le père d’Eugène et ses trois oncles et, à la génération suivante, Eugène et ses deux sœurs, l’aînée, Charlotte Élisabeth Eugénie, décédée à l’âge de cinq ans, et la cadette, Charlotte Eugénie Antoinette. Pour ce petit monde, il y avait douze domestiques. On y vivait en nobles riches d’avant la révolution. Mais dès son enfance Eugène y a expérimenté les menaces de la révolution. Par exemple, le 14 décembre 1790, il pouvait voir en face de sa maison, pendus au réverbère, les corps de deux amis de son père exécutés par les révolutionnaires. Maintenant cette maison est occupée par un magasin et des locataires.

René MOTTE, OMI

Category: Maison, Nouvelles

Fondateur des Missionnaires Oblats

Eugene de Mazenod

LES ÉVÉNEMENTS CLÉS DE SA VIE

1782 : naissance à Aix-en-Provence
1791 : contraint à l’exil en Italie par la Révolution française
1802 : rentré en France
1808 : entré au séminaire de Saint-Sulpice, Paris, études en vue du sacerdoce
1811 : ordonné prêtre
1812 : retour à Aix ; il ne va pas dans une paroisse, mais dédie son ministère à ceux qui ne sont pas touchés par les structures de l’Église : les pauvres qui parlaient provençal, les jeunes, les prisonniers, les habitants égarés des petits villages
1816 : fonde les missionnaires Oblats de Marie-Immaculée (initialement Missionnaires de Provence)
1823 : nommé vicaire général de Marseille
1832 : ordonné Évêque d’Icosie, mais avec résidence à Marseille
1837 : nommé Évêque de Marseille
1841 : envoi des premiers missionnaires Oblats au Canada, en Angleterre et en Irlande
1861 : mort le 21 mai
1975 : béatifié par le Pape Paul VI, en tant que missionnaire passionné de Jésus Christ et de l’Église
1995 : canonisé par le pape Jean Paul II

AUJOURD’HUI, son esprit missionnaire continue chez 4000 Oblats, missionnaires dans 64 pays, et chez des milliers de fidèles laïcs, dans la famille Mazenodienne, partout dans le monde, et chez les membres des 44 instituts de vie consacrée liés à son charisme.

Beaucoup trouvent en saint Eugène un intercesseur pour les familles en difficulté.

Pour aller plus loin, visitez le site ou abonnez-vous aux méditations : Eugène nous parle!

Category: Maison